Quran through converts!

It’s Ramadhan. “The month whose beginning is a mercy, whose middle is forgiveness, and whose end is freedom from the fire” Prophet Mohammed (PBUH) said. Since going online is part of my survival package, I’ve decided to dedicate some of my time online to my spiritual/religious enlightening through websites of concerned fields.

What I find most intriguing to read are stories of converts or reverts (to their original nature) as they like to be called, amid the search I stumbled upon this great website “Welcome Back“. I’ve read 2 stories so far, they send chills down my spine, good chills that is, ones that freeze my heart for a moment while I submerse in the beauty of my religion. Having been born as a Muslim and bred as a practicing Muslim, I was not ever in the journey of discovery to find or smoke out the light of Islam. Light was already within and surrounding me, it was a matter of staring at the light and appreciating it. I can relate to how reverts feel, but I cannot feel it myself! How I envy you reverts, in a good way I promise 🙂

One aspect of this glorious journey of discovering Islam I noticed from reverts, is when they first read the Quran. I’ll leave you with a few words from Dr. Jeffrey Lang (a revert after being an athiest for 10 years):

“You cannot simply read the Qur’an, not if you take it seriously. You either have surrendered to it already or you fight it. It attacks tenaciously, directly, personally; it debates, criticizes, shames, and challenges.”

“I was at a severe disadvantage, for it became clear that the Author knew me better than I knew myself.”

“The Qur’an was always way ahead of my thinking; it was erasing barriers I had built years ago and was addressing my queries.”

“I was being led, working my way into a corner that contained only one choice.”

 Powerful words, read about his journey to Islam here  

Dear readers, do you (like me) envy reverts for their journey of discovery? Do you feel (like I do) miss on crucial aspects of feeling Islam through reading Quran for the first time and realising that this is it, this is the truth?

25 Comments

  1. kat said,

    August 24, 2009 at 3:46 am

    Someone said life is a journey of learning—We should never stop learning—new perspectives, deeper understanding, and higher level of knowldge are part of our life journey—if we choose to make them so. As a born muslim myself—I always discover something new and enlightening in the Quran.—it can be done—if we so choose to.

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 25, 2009 at 10:54 pm

      What you’ve stated is 101% true, I can’t disagree. However, what I think we miss is the opportunity to see light when we’re immersed in darkness. To debate a book, trying to look for faults to prove a point, to read a book for mere sarcasm and ferocious attacks, only to find it (the book, the Quran) speak to you in complete sense and you’re left with no choice but to surrender!

      Thank you Kat for your reply. I loved your contribution, hoping to see more you of around 🙂

  2. Nadia said,

    August 24, 2009 at 10:15 am

    I envy them too! (my mother). They see something we don’t. It’s like we sometimes take Islam for granted. Beautiful post Sharhazad.

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 25, 2009 at 10:57 pm

      Yes! You’ve got a walking, talking example right in front of you, in fact that example has raised you up! Heyy now I envy you too :p

      I just wonder, had we been non-believers or even Christians, would we ever think of opening the Quran to check it out? For that, I really and wholeheartedly thank ALLAH for being born a Muslim!

  3. nadia said,

    August 24, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Awesome post, mashaAllah! And yes, I envy reverts because they take seriously what we often take for granted.

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 25, 2009 at 11:32 pm

      thanks Nadia! I’m sure you’ve met many reverts along your blogging experience.. I love the way I feel about my religion when I see/hear/read about reverts. It’s a top-up reassurance that what we believe in, is truly the truth and the light, not that we need that reassurance, but it’s a definitely a bonus 🙂

  4. Hicham said,

    August 25, 2009 at 4:25 am

    It’s an excellent resource. Ramadan Kareem for all of you 😀

  5. Soulmate said,

    August 25, 2009 at 5:24 am

    Excellent post Shahrazad.. I never realized how much I took the Quraan and Islam for granted until I met and interacted with a few converts when I first went to the States.. Listening to the stories of their journey to Islam was definitely a huge spiritual awakening experience for me!

  6. August 25, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    […] Shahrazad […]

  7. Gchaan said,

    August 25, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    Beautiful post Shahrazad!
    Yes! I definitely get what you’re trying to say and I feel that way too.

    Thanks for the link and Ramadan Mubarak to you and your family!

  8. nadia said,

    August 25, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    You’ve just been awarded here!

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 25, 2009 at 11:37 pm

      I AM HONOURED!!!!!! You’ve given me recognition beyond what I deserve (trying to act all humble :D, but seriously)

      I am delighted, give me a few hours and I’ll post it, it deserves a special entry of its own 😀

      thank you again and again Nadia 🙂

  9. August 26, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    i have started my taraweeeh this month and this year and it feels great!

  10. FAITH said,

    August 27, 2009 at 12:14 am

    I envy them a BIG time! I was today talking during Iftar with my family and saying; what if I wasn’t born Muslim? Would I bother to read about religions?
    Would I become a Muslim?

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 28, 2009 at 12:21 am

      This particular questions pops up every time I hear of a convert, or I hear of anyone wondering how come others are blind to the light of Islam. We should put ourselves in their shoes, I would never trade my faith in for any other religion, I wouldn’t even give it a chance, how do we expect others to see the light just like that! It takes so much courage, trust and thought to take the conversion step.

      Everyone believes their belief is right, or else it wouldn’t be called “belief”

  11. August 27, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Just came across your blog and I love it 🙂
    Although I was born a Muslim, I only “became religious” 2 years ago, and so I feel like I’ve gone through a lot of what reverts go through – researching, questioning, doubting, and eventually embracing, Islam. Mashallah the journey is amazing, and if anything makes my deen stronger.

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 28, 2009 at 12:26 am

      Amazing, MASHALLAH! May Allah give you (and us) the strength to stay on the right path for as long as we live. You must be proud of yourself, I am proud of you for you took the time and effort to research, question and debate. Not everyone can do that… especially if you are within people who do not practice.

      I’ve visited your blog too, I absolutely love it..it’s already in my list of “my daily dose of blogs” 🙂 Have you posted anything about your “revert” phase/journey? I’d like to read….

  12. Fathima said,

    August 28, 2009 at 3:29 am

    I am born Muslim and feel sometime that it is pity that revert muslims have missed out on a good part of their live but in fact most of the times it is we who have missed out on it cos we take it for granted and dont learn our deen enough whereas they learn a lot in a small period and have all their sins forgiven! They have done a lot more in the short period of being in Islan than we have in all our lives if you think about it! So Masha Allah – new Muslims are blessed indeed!

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 28, 2009 at 2:30 pm

      Fathima, yah that’s exactly what I meant, they learn in big doses as adults what we learnt in little chunks throughout our life.

      Yes I envy them Mashallah but what they go through must be revulotionary, they pump their brains with knowledge and act upon that knowledge in such a short time! May Allah bless them….

      thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  13. Shahrazad said,

    August 28, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Sara: what you’ve written is thought-provoking and amazing, looking fwd to the longer post like you promised

  14. February 15, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    […] Shahrazad […]


Leave a Reply

