home..

where all the thinking takes place

where all the thinking takes place

My aunt was around my area at the time of prayers last week, so she called saying that she’s a 3-minutes drive to my house and is passing by to pray. In circumstances as such I thank God first and foremost, and then Linda (my housemaid) for having a home welcome to sudden guests 24/7! Otherwise, I would’ve had a panic attack, and some minor temper tantrums running from one corner to the other, making sure every piece of mess is well hidden (by that I mean; violently pushed under the bed, or forcefully shoved inside the nearest closet). With the presence of a maid, all you need to do is entertain your guest, offer some fresh fruit juice or even beg her to stay for dinner!

Linda is a blessing -most of the time, I must add- (details about Linda coming in another post Inshallah).

So yah the aunt comes in, she goes into the bathroom, one minute later, the door is wide open and I hear “Darling, you a need a new soap dispenser, this is useless, it doesn’t work” I go straight in and with a quick twist it works just fine and I say “you’ve just got to lift up a lil bit, then it’ll work”. She goes back in, I hear another shout from behind the door “Darling, the flush isn’t working”, I go “Oh for that aunty, all you need is to keep pressing and enjoy watching the junk flush away”. One last roar from the bathroom and I hear “Darling, the shower head fell down, it wasn’t fitted properly, you need to call your contractor, those people never do their job right” I go “Oh no aunty, this… Just keep it vertically straight and it’ll stay up and still”

For a moment I thought we’ve paid so much for the renovation of this house in the name of quality contemporary design and now we’ve got to deal with these unexpected itsy bitsy faults, damn! Then it occurred to me; isn’t this what we call home? When you’ve figured your way round things to work perfectly, just a twist or a pull or sometimes a pat on the item and it works just fine? Aren’t all homes like this? These quick fix-it moves become a natural habit and life goes on pretty smoothly day in, day out.

I love home…

Eight months ago, this place was barely fit for human habitation, now I’m lovin it to bits..

 

Dining area

Dining area

our relaxing space

our relaxing space

My special area

My special area

25 Comments

  1. Rayyan said,

    August 14, 2009 at 2:18 am

    LOOOOOOL are all aunts like that??
    Ya sure all homes has their pros and cons.. but what makes it special it’s YOUR OWN place.. you get used to it and can’t wait to be back to it once you’re away from it.. sub7an Allah!

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 15, 2009 at 6:28 pm

      true… even when I’m out on holidays, I still miss home…

  2. August 14, 2009 at 11:49 am

    and MY GOD!
    the pictures are exquisite!

  3. um3azzan said,

    August 14, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I was thinking about think when I was using the guest bathroom in my humble apartment, thinking what if mom came here .. she would give me a good lecture .. but then I thought, but this is home and I am used to it this way! (not to compare my tiny humble apartment to your wounderful home, yours is SOMETHING!)

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 15, 2009 at 6:30 pm

      LOL.. a home is a home, a humble apartment or a villa in hollywood, they both you give you the same feeling of security. Btw, I so much like you apartment, specially after the renovations, cozy!

  4. 'liya said,

    August 14, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Very unique design style! I like the chairs in the last pic 😀

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 15, 2009 at 6:32 pm

      I like them too… the glass frames behind the chairs hold some dozen pictures each, the idea is to replace the pictures every so often, they’re just attached to the frame by blu-tac.

      I like to sit there from time to time, stare at the pictures and appreciate the beautiful life I have, Alhamdlilah 🙂

  5. nadia said,

    August 14, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    Home is where we feel comfortable and relaxed, and happy despite those minor faults. And I must say your home is very pretty and organized. Thanks for sharing the pictures 🙂

  6. Maryam said,

    August 14, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    Mashallah! You house is beautiful .. I would very much love to make mine alike yours inshallah … someday 🙂

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 15, 2009 at 6:37 pm

      Aww sweet of you.. thanks! The idea was to implement whatever I had in mind into the actual thing.

      The bathroom (first picture) was a mixture of innovative ideas. the Mr. always dreamed of a black bathroom, so he got it. I thought black was too dark so I added a bit of white. The counter under the sink was something I saw off a catalogue but was way too expensive.. I studied the design and I thought why not? I got it custom-made by a local carpenter.

  7. Nadia said,

    August 15, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I’m in love with your dining room set 🙂 I-N-L-O-V-E

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 15, 2009 at 6:39 pm

      IKEA is your destination!… the dining set itself is quite old from home centre some 4.5 years ago, but we bought the curtains right behind them from Ikea and it managed to transform the place quite dramatically. Yah they’re layered curtains actually 😀

  8. August 18, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Dont worry we built our own house and we have thoes itty bitty problems and i have yet to decorate it the way i want and i’m saying this after living it in for a year!

    Your place is bliss ma sha Allah you should share where you get your inspirations from

  9. Gchaan said,

    August 19, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    You have a beautiful home!

  10. Shahrazad said,

    August 20, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Thanks Mayya and Gchaan.

    Mayya, I do not mind sharing at all. You ask, I talk 😀

  11. Um Haitham said,

    August 20, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    hey u what a beautifull house you have
    indeed these small things annoys sometimes, but i love things to be perfeeeeeeeeect at home

  12. д§mд said,

    August 21, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    thats a beautiful place … where’s it exactly? And I love your washroom … heheh nice bathrooms are a must to have in a home 😀 I love the color combination too .. and heheh I can so relate to those occasional sliding things under furniture thing 😀

    BTW aunt wanted to do wuduu in bathroom or a bath 😀

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 23, 2009 at 11:55 am

      LOL.. you do read between the lines, eh! I was wondering how come no one wondered why the shower head! You know with old age comes the difficulty of lifting your foot up the sink, especially this bowl shaped sink on top of the counter there 🙂

      It’s in Muscat, Oman. Welcome in… anytime!

  13. Ra-1 said,

    August 24, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Loved you house! very nice mashaAllah 🙂

  14. August 27, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Oh wow you have an AMAZING home mashallah! It really is beautiful!

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 28, 2009 at 12:07 am

      Thank you Sara :D… living between cairo, lusaka and amesterdam you must’ve lived in many homes, I’m glad you liked mine 😀

  15. Nima said,

    September 1, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Nice to read your blog…..Beautiful pictures of your home…


Leave a Reply

