“A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini

  O.U.T.S.T.A.N.D.I.N.G!

Khaled Hosseini takes you through the life stories of two women of varied backgrounds, brought together by the intense politics of Afghanistan. The plots are carefully narrated making it a wonderfully absorbing read.

This book is way beyond my ability of giving a fair review. It’s a beautiful work of art. Indulge in it yourselves and judge..   

 

If you’ve read a book that comes close enough to the beauty of this book, please share 🙂

16 Comments

  1. Nadia said,

    August 6, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    Girl, this book is one of the best books I have EVER read. It tells the story of humanity. Many of us don’t know anything about Afghanistan unless it’s political. I felt that reading this book increased my awareness so much and contributed greatly to my education (life education, that is). You can never understand a country unless you hear stories from individuals. This is as close as we’ll ever get to understanding war-torn Afghanistan and the suffering of its people. Thumbs up Khalid Hosseini for introducing the world to his Afghanistan.

  2. elia said,

    August 7, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    I agree! Definitely a beautiful book 🙂 Some parts moved me to tears… I love it more than The Kite Runner.

  3. Shahrazad said,

    August 8, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Elia, I watched “Kite Runner” in the movies and my throat was killing me throughout (trying to hold back the tears). I don’t usually cry in public! I loved the story so much!! So touching, but I have to agree “A Thousand Splendid Suns” is more captivating. It’s simply WOW!

  4. Shahrazad said,

    August 8, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Nadia… true true true

    For some time, I stopped reading novels, I naivly believed they were a waste of time, I wanted true stories with true people and true situations.. But no, this particular one crashed all those stupid beliefs to a million and one pieces. This work is a piece of art that you won’t always find in a true story.

    Being a book worm, do you recall of any book that gave you a similar exotic absorbing read?

  5. Nadia said,

    August 9, 2009 at 8:39 am

    YES!

    The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver was AMAZING. Same type of thing about five American sisters who grew up in the Congo in Africa, and it follows through a couple of generations. Amazing book.

    And The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende is her first book (From back in the 1980s) but a classic. You end up learning lots about South America!She also has many other excellent books that I enjoyed like ‘Paula’ and ‘Daughter of Fortune’.

    The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, completely captivating story with a lot of mystery .. takes place in Spain in the 1930s. I just finished reading his second book ‘The Angel’s Game’ but I thought the first one was better.

    I can only read books like this. I find it hard to pick up any light fiction. I like real and deep novels that will teach me something.

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 11, 2009 at 1:06 pm

      Thanks 🙂
      ….now I’ve got an even longer list of to reads, exciting!

  6. Nadia said,

    August 9, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Oh, and Harry Potter!

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 11, 2009 at 1:10 pm

      Not that I’ve read any of the Harry Potters, but I’ve got the impression that it’s too “imaginary” for my taste.

  7. Firyal said,

    August 10, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    sounds interesting! i might check!

  8. AD said,

    August 11, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    this book shook the world in me.
    i cudnt keep it down once i started reading and there were times i thought my heart cudnt contain any longer!

    this man has a wonderful gift and he shud write more.
    i m yet to read kite runner but even that i have just read this, i m so glad i came across it and went on with a gut instinct!

    truly a gem in writin!

    • Shahrazad said,

      August 13, 2009 at 6:17 pm

      Totally agree.. it definitely did the same to me.

      I’m surprised this is just the 2nd book he writes! he’s so talented… I’m glad he has unleashed his talent in good time considering he was a Dr. you’d think he’d be occupied within the medical field only.

      Good for him, good for his readers 🙂

  9. Essence Oman said,

    September 2, 2009 at 9:42 am

    I had this book for months now but for some reason didnt go beyond the 10page…. this definitely encouraged me.

    Thank you for the review.

  10. Crystal said,

    September 4, 2009 at 8:30 am

    I loved this book also. It taught me so much about Afghanistan history and showed me a perspective I had never thought about before. The Kite Runner is also an excellent read but I enjoyed this one more.

    Another book that gives a historical insiders perspective is “Memoirs of a Geisha”. The story its self is not that captivating but for some reason I could not put it down. Maybe it was because it was about a group I knew nothing about?

    • Shahrazad said,

      September 5, 2009 at 12:17 am

      Yes, the book was indeed very very informative. I went bragging about my knowldge of Afghanistan’s history to my husband, he was impressed 🙂

      “Memoirs of a Geidha” are on my to-read list, I just need to get my hands (rather eyes) on it. After reading Khaled Hossseini I’m finding it difficult to get my reading passion back on track, I want something that’s just as captivating.

      Thanks for stopping by Crystal 🙂


Leave a Reply

