Listen to your car!

My heart was drumming boom boom, my hands firmly cupped around the steering wheel shivering, my foot pressing ever so hard on the accelerator, nothing.. the car ceases to respond. There were cars of all namoona (a Hindi word, not that I speak Hindi but I like the sound of the word, in this context it means: of all shapes and sizes) right behind me!

Hubby was a few meters away, I’m screaming his name out loud but of course he is in his car and me in mine, so obviously he cannot hear me. Oh just in case you’re wondering why were we on two different cars, we weren’t on a marital dispute or something, my car was actually in the service centre, we were taking it back from there.

Anyway as the speed meter gradually goes down, I take a deep breath, press the double indicator and move to the main road shoulder with whatever is left from the car speed and there just as I turn to the right, the car freezes, it stops! I’m glad my mind was wide awake guiding me, because otherwise I would’ve stopped right in the middle of a busy main road waiting for fate to decide what happens next!

This is what happens when you don’t listen to your car! This is exactly what happens when your car tells you that your fuel level is not enough but you choose to ignore it, thinking you know more, and obviously I’ve just proved that I don’t know nothin, what a shame! That’s a lesson learnt the hard way, but I’m glad I’m safe and sound Alhamdulilah 🙂

 We went to the nearest petrol station to get some fuel and back to rescue my car. Here is the Mr. feeding the car, amid the heat poor hubby! while I slack in his car, with some cold breeze from the air conditioner. Men are handy, very handy at times…

 

the Mr. feeding my car!

the Mr. feeding my car!

 

On a different note, I’m off to Dubai tomorrow! We have two days public holiday and I’ve taken two days off, including the weekend and that’s an oustanding total of six good days of no-work, so looking forward….  

 

Dubai Marina, taken some long time back!

Dubai Marina, taken some long time back!

9 Comments

  1. um3azzan said,

    July 21, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Maskeeena okhayti! Alf salama 3aleesh, and enjoy Dubai.

    u know what, when I told my hubby the story .. he was (jokingly, dont go all sensetive :p ) saying this could never happen to you, and you know why? because I dont allow the petrol sign to come and I would stright away fill out your car! Awain!

  2. Shahrazad said,

    July 21, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Oh come on Um3azzan, you don’t want us to get into a fight over who has a better husband 😛 Joking!

    Well I rarely fill the car up myself, it’s usually hubby, and I rarely drive on while the indicator has gone red, but… it was boiling hot outside and without my knowledge the service people consumed ALL the fuel in my car, it wasn’t on empty when I took it to them. I suggested we drive home and fill it at the station closer to home which was a 2-min drive from where the car stopped and another 1 min to home.

    Heyy I feel better, I just lashed out at the feedback personnel who just called from the service centre asking me if the service was satisfactory!

  3. Wolynski said,

    July 21, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Lucky you to have such an useful hubby. That’s a beautiful shot of the Dubai marina.

  4. Redwan Ahmed said,

    July 21, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    Assalamu Alaikum

    ma’shallah, a beaufiful article

    my website is shit 😦

    check it out if you want: desitunes.freetzi.com

    wassalam

  5. Rayyan said,

    July 22, 2009 at 10:03 am

    oh Salamaaaaaaaat..

    alhamdulilah 3ala salamtek..

  6. Gchaan said,

    July 23, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Al Hamdulellah that you’re fine and nothing crazy or dangerous happened.
    It’s nice that you had someone with you too! Next time listen to your car 😛

    On a side note – I’m LOVING your car!
    I’m a big Peugeot fan…inshallah my future car !

    If you’re back from Dubai then I hope you had a wonderful trip!!

    P.S. What a beautiful template 🙂

    • Shahrazad said,

      July 25, 2009 at 10:51 am

      .. welcome to the club, everytime I look at my car, I say “7abeebity” hehehe!

      thanks Gchaan 🙂

  7. Um Haitham said,

    July 24, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    hey this is a note so next time listen to your car & dont ignore it, well it happend to me once long time back, (10 years ) or even more, & i will never forget that time when no mobile phones & i was helped by a stranger
    and ever since, i never ignore my car
    so good u learn from your mistakes

  8. Shahrazad said,

    July 25, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Thanks everyone! I’m back from Dubai safe and sound Alhamdlilah!

    I will definitely listen to my car again, and I will also ignore the voice inside that tells me “It’s not completely empty, it’ll sure take you home!”


Leave a Reply

