….a casual note

 

Having a blog is like pulling your thoughts from deep within, putting them on the surface for display. Your once hidden words are put on the table for others to see and chat about.

Why would anyone want to reveal their thoughts? Aren’t they safer where they are, concealed deep inside? The thing is – through comments, you get reassurance, you get comfort and you get opposing thoughts. This ultimately helps you reflect and contemplate.

My words are no surprise to me; I’m just printing them down to satisfy my visual cortex. Looking at once intangible thoughts now printed in a well organized manner makes me happy! That’s for me…

…….For others, it’s seeing the “other” me! The “hidden” me. When I converse with others, I monitor what verbal messages come out. Whereas in a blog, in my corner of thoughts, I put whatever crosses my mind, because there is no other party, it’s me, myself and I. It’s my reservoir of thoughts..

For those who know me in person, after displaying only “some” of my thoughts in public, are you seeing or slowly unfolding the “other” me, or do my thoughts match the visible me?

Enlighten me please 🙂

12 Comments

  1. May 27, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I think I know enough not to feel that a post here or there revealed something shocking .. But I am liking the fact that you are allowing others to see who you are truly are, my adorable sensetive wise lil sister 🙂

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 28, 2009 at 7:24 pm

      Well at least through my blog I’m getting a sense of what my sister thinks of me. You never told me you think I’m adorable, sensitive and wise. I’m flattered 😀

  2. Um Haitham said,

    May 27, 2009 at 10:59 am

    i had the same thinking dear , i like to write & type and put all my thoughts in paper , that was since i was a child, and it was a good feeling to go and read it after i mature & see by stage how i was thinking. i never though of sharing my thoughts and maybe the reason why , is i feel no one is interested about it
    though reading yours make me smile and happy
    so well done and keep it up

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 28, 2009 at 7:27 pm

      I’m interested, I would be your no.one fan 😉

      I started writing personal diairies in my pc, then I opened a secret blog for over a year, but both got me no where. Getting some comments makes a diary “alive” or “active”. Maybe this will help you continue..

  3. May 27, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    Salam 🙂

    What you’re going through is an on going internal debate for me! I think bloggers should balance between safeguarding their privacy and allowing enough substance to benefit and interest their readers.

    After all, a blog is open to the world! It is not like written thoughts on a small notebook that is being selectively revealed to close people.

    Regarding your question, I am learning more about you. Maybe it is because I never knew you like how Arabian Princess and Um Haitham did. So basically I think your close people would still see the same you, though it’ll be through interesting and engaging thoughts. For people who know you lightly, the blog is an opportunity to better understand you and appreciate your thoughts.

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 28, 2009 at 7:32 pm

      I always appreciate your comments Abu Ibrahim :).. very thoughtful!

      You put it right, for those who know me very well, a blog is just that extra topping. It is those who only know me through minimal conversations that may see the “other” vocal me.

  4. Um Muhanad said,

    May 27, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    I totally agree with Hamed, for the ppl who know u its the same Shahrazad we r reading her thoughts here, but for the ppl who dont it is to make them understand u better.. For me, u r always the sweet open book, although im sure u have lots of secrets hiding it from me :p lool.. But i used to read Um Haitham’s diary and i loved it coz she had a sense of adventure and fun in writing her days in school and being a student abroad how it went and how to deal with her problems.. And um haitham u wasn’t close to me when we were young as we r now,, so reading ur diary was making me proud being ur young sister 😉 Sure I can see the smile in ur face um haitham..

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 28, 2009 at 7:34 pm

      We should convince Um Haitham to go back to writing a diary, an “online” one this time.
      What about you Um Muhanad? I never see the “other” you, your thoughts are still hidden deep inside 😉

  5. Soulmate said,

    May 29, 2009 at 4:36 am

    From what I’ve read so far, I’m definitely not discovering another side of you.. like the others have said, you’re an open book.. reading your entries is like being in a cafe discussing random thoughts with you while sipping away our coffee 😉

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 30, 2009 at 9:26 am

      I guess I’m quite vocal with my close ones, most of you are not seeing anything new. Maybe, I need to shy-off a bit in social conversations or be more out-spoken in my blog? or a bit of both 😉
      But yah, you wouldn’t see anything new, I call you internationally for the silliest of matters anyway 😀

  6. Your dear Husband said,

    May 30, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    My dear wife…. I think it is courageous to write your thoughts…. I have been always a writer and always dreamt of publishing my writings, however, I never have the courage to face criticism. Moreover, I always think “what would they think of me if I publish this, or what would this article/writing say about me !!!

    seeing your posts and the comments you get makes me think “its not too bad at all” however, I am yet to decide whether to publish my writings or not.

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 31, 2009 at 3:39 pm

      I’ve seen your writings before we got married but since then, they stopped pouring. I stopped giving you the inspitation, huh? Or maybe… when you’ve got love right beside you, you do not need inspiration anymore?


Leave a Reply

