Why I hate weddings?

I have something against weddings, we just don’t get along at all. I hate weddings and I dread them just as much! I maybe selfish when I say that, because I’ve had the wedding of my dream, 800+ people attended, everything went smoooooth, well apart from entering the hall pretty late but that’s typical of all weddings I guess?.. The funny thing is that, hating weddings is very very very common, you hardly find anyone over-whelmed when receiving an invitation card. The usual reaction is “Ohhhhh Ahhhhhh…what am I gonna wear?” in an obvious disinterested manner.

Anyway let me state my top 10 list of reasons of my deepest hates for weddings (for me to evaluate and for you reader to judge):

  1. Weddings lost their purpose, they’re not a ceremony of love anymore, they’re a show-off parade or an attempted beauty contest.
  2. The more make-up, the more you fit in! It should be called a cake-up competition. I generally like it natural and simple. I’m usually forced to apply make-up just to “fit in” and I’m no make-up artist.
  3. The gown! Nightmare… you’ve to switch on your utmost memory recall capabilities trying to remember who will you meet in this wedding who has attended a wedding I have attended before wearing the same gown. As complicated as it sounds, it’s very true and extremely annoying. We’re no celebrities we’re allowed to dress in the same gown for as much as we like, you’d think?!
  4. I HATE LOUD MUSIC….It literally pierces my eardrums and keeps echoing in my head all night.
  5. It’s really bad, mean and unethical that with allllll the efforts the bride has made to make sure that everything is under control, you’ll see people complaining of the napkin not matching the stage colour, ridiculous!  Oh not just that, but also comparing and contrasting, not just the stage, tables and theme, but the bride herself. There is always a rating of beauty there..
  6. It drains my wallet. I’ve got to buy a hand-bag for weddings, a 3abaya, sometimes 2 or 3 just for weddings, special gowns and scarves for weddings, shoes for weddings, jewelry and accessories for weddings. It’s a never ending money sucking job!
  7. If you did attend, you go unnoticed. If you did not, you’re blamed and judged a life-time to your guts for not attending.
  8. The most urrrgggghhh! fact is when you’re forced to go to a wedding when you don’t know the bride or the groom, just to represent your family. We’ve become ambassadors!
  9. Time-consuming. I’m a perfectionist, I have to have my scarf swirl in a certain way to be able to go out. I need an hour before to get ready, and an hour when I get back to remove all the stains (like my husband calls it) from my face. Just imagine the wedding finishing at midnight, and you’ve got work the next day. Eyes puffed from lack of sleep.
  10. Finding a car and a companion to and from the wedding is the least of impracticalities, but a big impracticality in itself.
7 Comments

  1. May 23, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    The thing I hate about weddings is commitment. Like, I can’t say I am going and then change my mind .. Nooooooo I will face lots of people making me feel guilty for not informing them earlier.
    I really don’t mind a fun wedding every now and then .. But I would love it to be up to me to choose!

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 24, 2009 at 11:22 am

      Ohh.. that’s point no.11 in my list! lol..

  2. Soulmate said,

    May 24, 2009 at 3:25 am

    Shahrazad, thanks for speaking out loud on behalf of many! To be honest, I can’t say I agree with your 10 points, but I’m sure it sums things up well for alot of ladies out there.. It might be that, being away from home, I feel like I’m missing out on all those weddings; for as much of a hastle it is, I consider it to be the perfect outlet for us to dress up glamorously considering we’re in our black Abayas and Hijab most of the time! Yes, it is not easy going through that process of deciding what to wear, yes it is pocket drenching and yes it is very time consuming.. but I have to admit that, most of the times at least, I wouldn’t stop admiring the final outcome of the process 😉 I’m not sure I would still be saying this if I were in Oman right now, amid the very busy weddings season, but I can say for sure that at this point in time I wouldn’t mind catching a flight to Oman just to attend a wedding, I really do miss it!

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 24, 2009 at 11:31 am

      that’s good to hear 🙂
      I wouldn’t say all 10 points apply to all weddings, there are those extra special weddings that I would secretly swallow the impracticalities to go and enjoy 😉
      Also, it’s very rewarding to see the bride happy when she sees you. This totally gives me the push to attend weddings. In fact, this one point weighs heavier than all these 10 points sometimes!

  3. Um Haitham said,

    May 24, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    Oh thanks young lady for sharing this with us, its indeed not a pleasent to get a card invitation for a wedding, especially for those you are not really close to
    but for those who are close to , thats when u are in a beauty compition on make up & cloths, and thats when it become a nightmare
    now aday i tend to wear Abaya, belive me much better & does the job
    and ignore any comment from ppl, it hurt but at least you wont be blamed why u didnt attend

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 25, 2009 at 9:15 am

      Very good point. Just attend wearing a 3abayaa! But… I feel under-dressed when I do that, specially seeing people I know who’re way over-dressed makes me want to shrink and hide under the table, lol! Needless to mention some comments like “why are you hiding under the 3abayaa – ka2aanish 3ajoooza” 😛

  4. Rayyan said,

    May 28, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    I’m reading this and I’m suppose to be dressed to attend a wedding NOW!
    I just dont feeeeeeel like going.. but what to do LAZIM!!!!!!
    I hate when I’m forced to go.. to be honest I’m doing it for mama and teta since they are not here! as u said we are ambassadors! anyway see u there!!!


Leave a Reply

