Why Speech Therapy?

I was invited to an international Speech and Language Therapy conference in Manchester in 2003 (? – if my memory serves me right). All invitees were asked to present  a short talk saying why they chose this field. For many, the answer to why speech therapy specifically was because it is a novel career thus promising a job immediately. For others, it was because it’s a noble career, very humane – as it involves compassion, sympathy (or I’d rather say empathy), mercy and kindness, thus very rewarding.. For me, this is what I had to say:        

——

 This particular question brings back to me some memory flashes of a tragedy that has befallen my brother (Malik) almost nine years ago. An intelligent and charming young boy at that time, my brother suffered a serious head injury after a road traffic accident which lead to massive complications in his speech abilities.

 Ever since, I made an important decision in life, and that is to dedicate the rest of my life in favor of those who are in need of a helping hand in order to be able to talk and express themselves just like everyone else.

 I hope my accomplishments will meet the expectations of my fellow citizens back home who are eagerly waiting for improvements in the field of Speech and Language Therapy!

 ——

 Dearest of all Malik,

At this very moment, I stand silent looking at your cheerful smile just in front of me. Your smile full of hope and bursting with optimism.

 Malik, will the day come when my words could immerse into your brain that has lost its glory since Friday the 25th of February 1994?! That’s a question we would never find an answer to, because God only knows.

 Malik I love you from the very deepest point in my heart.

 Malik

6 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    May 19, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    May Allah reward you by your noble career.. May Allah grant you sincerity in it and hope Malik will get better more and more everyday.

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 20, 2009 at 2:37 pm

      Amen….. and thank you! with Allah’s will & our efforts he will Inshallah get better. There is nothing called impossible, like Malik always says “Wama Thalikaa 3ala Allahi bi3azeez”

  2. Um Haitham said,

    May 24, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Your words touched me so much , and made me think, that we are sometimes forgetting to thank god for his health and all the things we had, and always think of why not me or why me..

    اللة يصبر مالك وفي ميزان حسناتة ان شاء اللة

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 25, 2009 at 9:26 am

      True Um Haitham.. We should always thank Allah during happiness and sadness! Everything happens for a reason, we just need to be patient and appreciate the outcome. Plus, I always think of it this way, when God tests you with misfortunes either in health or wealth, you thank Allah for three :-
      1) There are always others who are in much worse situations.
      2) It’s in materialistic things and not in your faith.
      3) If you were patient with the Fate He has chosen for you, you get rewarded in the hereafter!

      patience, patience and patience is the secret all the way 🙂

  3. Um Muhanad said,

    May 25, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Sub7an Allah..
    Since 2 days i was coming back from work and i was near home already when i was going to turn i was suprised a loud and continuce car horn, then i realised there was a car not speeding but coz it was too close he couldnt stop but thank god that the road was emtpy and he could go to the other side and avoid the clash.. for few mintues i was in a shock state that i couldnt think and how come i didnt see the car coming then i realised that i heard the phone msg tone and wanted to know from who…

    i know its a stupid thinking to check the phone while driving, feeling i could handel it but in a sec it could took my life or even being normal again.. its a lesson i learned..

    i thanked god strongly that my parents taught us whenever we ride a car we say du3aa rokob alsiyara ” Sub7an alathi sa`7ara lana hatha wama kuna lahu muqreneen wa enna ela rabina lamunqalebeen”
    it really saved my life so so many times

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 26, 2009 at 9:31 am

      It happens to me many times, but the fear of accidents is engraved in me after Malik’s accident. Even when I speed I think “am I meeting the end of my life now?”, it sounds like a psychiatric problem, whatever it is, it helps me concentrate while driving. I admit I do speed from time to time though, you need that adrenaline rush sometimes 😉

      But checking your SMS while driving! Never do that again, we still want you alive…:P


Leave a Reply

