Fruit of heaven in a Salad

I’ve just had my all-time favourite salad and since I’m never selfish, I thought I’ll share it with ya’ll ;)..

I’m into healthy eating in general, when I eat anything, my mind swirls in imagination. I imagine numerous colourful nutrients of different shapes and sizes abosrbed by the organs, ah I know! Anyway, this is a super super healthy salad and you can’t go wrong with it.

You’ll need the following (in whatever quantity you like, according to taste):

  • Rocket leaves (jarjeer in Arabic)
  • Pomegranate sauce (Dibs Al-Rumman in Arabic), Pomegranate are said to be one of the fruits of heaven. This sauce is quite strong in flavour, add a few drops if you’re not sure it suits your taste buds. You can get it in speciality shops or big supermarkets.  
  • Olive oil
  • Lemon (I put half a lemon only)
  • Black olives
  • Parmesan cheese or Feta cheese (or both!)

(I’ve seen it served with tomato dices and onion rings, yummy too!)

Mix all the liquidy ingredients (add a few drops of water if it’s too thick) and gently pour over your rocket. Sprinkle your olives and cheese on top, and that’s you! 

Take my word for it, delicious and the best of all is that it’s also healthilicious..

4 Comments

  1. Soulmate said,

    May 12, 2009 at 2:04 am

    That’s my very favourite salad as well! Super delicious and like you say, very healthy. I just got a bag of rocket leaves today and planning on making this salad tomorrow! Thanks for sharing your recipe 🙂

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 12, 2009 at 12:58 pm

      You’re most welcome. I first had it at AlBait AlTurkey. You didn’t seem to like it very much until you had the one at Cafe G which I admit is even more delicious 🙂

  2. Rayyan said,

    May 14, 2009 at 3:26 am

    sounds yumy.. I tried the one in Albait al turkey but it wasn’t with cheese!
    I remember it’s jarjeer(in USA they call it Arugula leaves) I mix it with dibs elrumman and little balsamic vinegar, little lemon and olive oil.. yummmmmmmmiiiii it’s delicious u can add anything u want to it like tomato or even your normal way feta cheese and olives but try using the belsamic vinegar with it..

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 14, 2009 at 10:42 am

      They call it “Rocket” in UK, but yes I’ve seen it called “Arugula” also. What do they call “dibs elrumman” in the shops there?

      Oh is it good with Balsamic vinegar?? I’ve got to try that..


Leave a Reply

