The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Robin S. Sharma)

This book takes you through this captivating journey of a top notch lawyer who goes to a soul replenishing experience in the Himalayas after realising that his health touched rock bottom.

Here is what I thought about the book:

  • I thought the story itself was “yes” awe-inspiring but it lacked that particular factor that keeps your reading drive steady.  It can get pretty boring at times!
  • I somehow found the language he used interesting. I liked how he relays a message in a twisted phrase, but I must say I’m not sure everyone would find the pleasure  in that sort of writing.
  • You can certainly feel the writer’s hidden intention to make you believe that a certain lifestyle/religion (as I took it) is better for you! This made me appreciate my religion Islam so much, because I can easily say that 95% of the things the writer calls for is found in Islam! If I have the time to re-read the book I’ll go back and summarise those facts and their existence in Islam.
  • The spiritual ingredients this book calls for are elements we’ve heard over and over again, but it helps you find those ingredients from deep within and re-put them on the surface to act upon. One great example, is how self-less we should be and the pleasure you get out of it. Very rewarding! Specially @ work with my children (my patients)!
  • I’ve learnt to phrase what I think in a better way. For example, “Is your cup full or empty?” – Don’t expect to take in new information or learn new things if you think you know it all. Another example and a nice one “Your mind is your garden”, so make sure you feed it with the right “healthy” nutrition. Do not intoxicate it with negative or bad thoughts.

 

  • Has it changed me in any way? “Yes”to say the least, this blog is one example! This book drove me to find a corner for printing down my thoughts.
  • Will I remember and act upon everything I read? I doubt it.       
4 Comments

  1. Your dear Husband said,

    May 7, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    nice, glad you enjoyed the reading and summarising it for me as I wasn’t up for reading. I can see that you have changed when you encuraged me to buy the car… thank you my dear 🙂

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 8, 2009 at 12:21 pm

      So you’ve benefitted from me reading the book? no wonder you’re asking if you should get me even more books of the same sort! hmmmm… hidden agenda ha 😉

  2. May 10, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Interesting, would love to read it if u can lend it to me 🙂

    • Shahrazad said,

      May 11, 2009 at 12:36 pm

      Sure… (tonight Inshallah)


Leave a Reply

